Shortly

URL Shortening Web App

Shortly is an open-source platform that allows users to shorten the length of their URLs.

Appwrite & Hashnode Hackathon

#Appwrite | #AppwriteHackathon

Team Details

Description of project

As mentioned before, shortly is an open-source platform that allows users to shorten the length of their URLs, delete it, and keep track of their shortened URLs. With our user-friendly website, your URLs are private and only visible to you once you sign in/sign-up.

Tech Stack

  • React js

    Axios

    Context API

  • CSS and Tailwind CSS

  • Appwrite

    Authentication

    Databases

  • Vercel

AppwriteCloud for the backend: I used the AppwriteCloud authentication service to manage secure user authentication, the AppwriteCloud databases services enabled me to store, retrieve and delete user information.

CSS and Tailwind CSS for styling: In the beginning, I used plained CSS for my styling, as I moved on with the project, I switched to Tailwind CSS for Rapid development and flexibility.

React js for the front end: I utilized React Js for my application front end; I used Axios to make requests to the API.

Challenges I faced

During the development process, I encountered so many challenges, as it is my first time using app write or any backend services for my project. Integrating the Appwrite services smoothly with my React front end required a deep understanding of both technologies. However, through research, and iterative development, I was able to overcome these obstacles and deliver a high-quality web app.

Public Code Repo

Be my guest and explore the application. While I am proficient in React, I do not consider myself an expert. This project has been a valuable learning experience. If you happen to find any areas that could be improved, I would be grateful if you would submit a pull request. I believe that continuous learning and growth are essential.

Shortly Web App